The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Swans Album Details!
Ben Hewitt , July 8th, 2010 06:51

Just remember: "This is not a reunion!"

Exciting news reaches The Quietus offices! Michael Gira has reconvened Swans (and mark his words: "THIS IS NOT A REUNION") and they will release their new album this September.

My Father Will Guide Me Up A Rope To The Sky will be released on September 20. Gira said: "THIS IS NOT A REUNION. It's not some dumb-ass nostalgia act. It is not repeating the past. After 5 Angels Of Light albums, I needed a way to move FORWARD, in a new direction, and it just so happens that reviving the idea of Swans is allowing me to do that."

The tracklisting for the album is as follows:

'No Words/ No Thoughts'

'Reeling The Liars In'


'My Birth'

'You Fucking People Make Me Sick'

'Inside Madeline'

'Eden Prison'

'Little Mouth'

The cover art has also been revealed:

If you love our features, news and reviews, please support what we do with a one-off or regular donation. Year-on-year, our corporate advertising is down by around 90% - a figure that threatens to sink The Quietus. Hit this link to find out more and keep on Black Sky Thinking.