The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Mark E Smith On New Gorillaz Album
Ben Hewitt , January 21st, 2010 07:21

The Fall frontman to pitch in with Albarn and Hewlett's cartoons

Genteel man of the north Mark E Smith will appear on the new album by Gorillaz, according to

Smith will join the likes of Mos Def, Snoop Dogg, Lou Reed, De La Soul, Gruff Rhys from Super Furry Animals and Mick Jones and Paul Simonon from The Clash.

Murdoc Niccals - the cartoon frontman of the project created by former Blur frontman Damon Albarn and artist Jamie Hewlett - also revealed the album's title would be Plastic Beach, and that the record would be released on March 8.

Talking about the guest stars on the album, he said: "Leeching is the wrong word now isn't it?"

"It's not like I've drawn blood or anything. No, I think the word 'coerced' sings the deal a little better. Although, yes, the coercion did come via chloroform and rohypnol."

NB The Quietus is aware that Murdoc isn't a real person.

If you love our features, news and reviews, please support what we do with a one-off or regular donation. Year-on-year, our corporate advertising is down by around 90% - a figure that threatens to sink The Quietus. Hit this link to find out more and keep on Black Sky Thinking.