The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Lucrecia Dalt Details New Album, '¡Ay!'
Christian Eede , June 23rd, 2022 14:01

Her eighth solo album draws on Latin American music genres such as bolero, merengue and salsa

Lucrecia Dalt has shared details of her eighth solo album, ¡Ay!.

Spanning 10 tracks, ¡Ay! marks the first time Dalt has sung in Spanish on her music since 2013 record Syzygy. The new album, which follows 2020's No Era Sólida and last year's collaborative album with Aaron Dilloway, sees Dalt reference science fiction, as well as Latin American music styles such as bolero, merengue, salsa and mambo. There are guest contributions from Alex Lázaro on percussion, Angelina Allemano on trumpet, Nick Dunston on double bass and clarinet, and Edith Steyer on flute.

Speaking about the album's lead track, 'No Tiempo', which you can watch a video for above, Dalt said in a statement: "This was the first track where I thought about how I could bring together these two disparate things: bolero and science fiction."

RVNG Intl. will release ¡Ay! on October 14, 2022.