The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Roger Robinson Releases New Tape On Boomkat Editions
Christian Eede , April 7th, 2021 13:27

'Seasons' is the latest instalment in the label's 'Documenting Sound' series

King Midas Sound's Roger Robinson has released a tape with his new band, The Black Space Quartet.

Seasons marks Robinson's first release with the band, which comprises singer Ruby Jones and two members of Welsh dubstep collective LSN. It forms the latest instalment in Boomkat Editions' ongoing Documenting Sound series, which was launched last year as an outlet for recordings produced during the COVID-19 lockdown.

Robinson says his vocals on Seasons represent "a yearning for the intimacy of gathering, a reflection of the skin's hunger for human touch and hymns toward hope." You can listen to clips via Boomkat.

Other releases in the Documenting Sound series thus far have come from the likes of Regis & Ann Margaret Hogan, Sarah Davachi, Hieroglyphic Being, and Mark Leckey.

Seasons is out now on Boomkat Editions.