New Mute Records Book Announced

A new book that aims to be the definitive visual chronicle of the much-loved label is released next month

Record label Mute, home to Swans, Liars, New Order and more, will release a new hardback book, Mute: A Visual Document on November 16.

The book is subtitled ‘From 1978 – Tomorrow’, and contains artwork and photography, much of which is unseen, from the archives of Mute and founder Daniel Miller.

Miller has written both an extensive introduction and commentary throughout the 320 page tome, which will feature discographies, a family tree and contributions from artists connected to the label over the years.

Contributors include Moby, Alison Goldfrapp, Anton Corbijn, Bleddyn Butcher, Brian Griffin, Jon Spencer, Barry Adamson, Ivan Novak of Laibach, Angus Andrew (Liars), Adrian Shaughnessy and Tom Hingston.

The book, credited to the author and musician Teddy Burrows along with Miller, is published by Thames & Hudson.

The Quietus Digest

Sign up for our free Friday email newsletter.

Support The Quietus

Our journalism is funded by our readers. Become a subscriber today to help champion our writing, plus enjoy bonus essays, podcasts, playlists and music downloads.

Support & Subscribe Today