Grace Jones’ Meltdown Announces First Names

Solange, Peaches, Jimmy Cliff and more will play London's Southbank Centre as part of the curated line-up

The first wave of acts for Grace Jones’ curated edition of Meltdown has been announced.

Jones has invited Solange, Peaches, Jimmy Cliff, Lee Scratch Perry with Adrian Sherwood, Skunk Anansie, Baaba Maal, Oumou Sangaré, Meshell Ndegeocello, Lee Fields and the Expressions and Ladysmith Black Mambazo to join her at London’s Southbank Centre for the festival this summer.

The Love Unlimited Synth Orchestra, the world’s first integrated ensemble of professional disabled and non-disabled musicians, will also present a special show celebrating the music of Barry White, alongside special guests, while Jones will bring the festival to a close herself with "a new show unlike any other she has performed before," according to a press release. More names will be added to the line-up in the coming months.

Tickets for the event will go on sale to Southbank Centre members at 10am this Wednesday (February 12) and to the general public at 10am on Friday (February 14). For more information, head here.

"As everyone knows, I’m a collector, and I collect people, amongst other things," Jones said of her curation in a statement. "This is what I have done for Meltdown. These wonderful artists I have chosen represent something unique to me personally and to my career. From Baaba Maal to Skunk Anansie to Solange. Each one of these artists has a little bit of me in them, and now I am proud to present them all to you."

Grace Jones’ Meltdown will take place from June 12 to 21, 2020.

The Quietus Digest

Sign up for our free Friday email newsletter.

Support The Quietus

Our journalism is funded by our readers. Become a subscriber today to help champion our writing, plus enjoy bonus essays, podcasts, playlists and music downloads.

Support & Subscribe Today