Jeff Mills’ Jazz Fusion Quartet To Release LP

Spiral Deluxe, the jazz fusion quartet featuring Jeff Mills, are to release their debut album in September

Jeff Mills will release a new album this September alongside the Spiral Deluxe quartet which he is part of. You can watch a teaser for the album above.

Entitled Voodoo Magic, it is the quartet’s debut album. The group features Mills on drums, Kenji "Jino" Hino on bass, Yumiko Ohno on Moog synth and Gerald Mitchell, who plays as part of Underground Resistance live projects Timeline and Galaxy 2 Galaxy, on keyboards.

The album’s tracks were all recorded in one take and the album’s production took place over the course of two days at Paris’ Studio Ferber.

The quartet was formed in 2014 and has since released two EPs, while also playing select live shows. The album, which is made up of four original tracks and a remix from Terrence Parker, is due out on September 7 via Mills’ own Axis Records.

The Quietus Digest

Sign up for our free Friday email newsletter.

Support The Quietus

Our journalism is funded by our readers. Become a subscriber today to help champion our writing, plus enjoy bonus essays, podcasts, playlists and music downloads.

Support & Subscribe Today