The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


A Certain Ratio To Release New Album, 'ACR Loco'
Christian Eede , June 30th, 2020 17:44

It's their first new album in 12 years

A Certain Ratio have announced their first new album in 12 years.

Titled ACR Loco, the album was recorded by the core group line-up of Jez Kerr, Martin Moscrop and Donald Johnson with contributions from the group's live line-up: Tony Quigley on sax, Denise Johnson on guest vocals, and Matt Steele on keyboards. Sink Ya Teeth's Maria Uzor and Gemma Cullingford, Gabe Gurnsey of Factory Floor), and Manchester figures Mike Joyce and Eric Random all also make appearances.

Jez Kerr describes ACR Loco as" a culmination of everything we've ever done." You can hear lead track 'Always In Love' above.

"Digging into the past for the boxset [2019's ACR:BOX] must have rubbed off on us and influenced the current album," says Martin Moscrop. "I think it helped spark up our imagination. It allowed us to work in some of the past as we move forward into the future."

Mute will release ACR Loco on September 25, 2020.

Revisit tQ's 2019 Strange World Of... feature on A Certain Ratio here.