The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Idris Ackamoor & The Pyramids Reveal New Album, 'Shaman!'
Christian Eede , May 26th, 2020 20:29

The album features a new line-up for the Pyramids

Idris Ackamoor & The Pyramids have shared details of a new album, due this August.

Titled Shaman!, the album features a new line-up for the Pyramids, with Ackamoor on saxophone, alongside original member Dr. Margaux Simmons on flute, Bobby Cobb on guitar, Sandra Poindexter on violin, Ruben Ramos on bass, Gioele Pagliaccia on drums and Jack Yglesias on percussion. You can hear lead track 'Theme For Cecil' just below.

"The album unfolds over four acts with personal musical statements about love and loss, mortality, the afterlife, family and salvation," Ackamoor says of the record which follows on from 2018's An Angel Fell.

Strut will release Shaman! on August 7.

Revisit tQ's 2018 Strange World Of... feature on Idris Ackamoor here.