The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Thurston Moore Announces New LP
Christian Eede , June 17th, 2019 17:14

'Spirit Counsel' is made up of three extended compositions recorded over the course of the last year

Thurston Moore has announced a new album, titled Spirit Counsel.

Set for release in box set form across three CDs and a book, the album contains three extended recordings worked on by Moore over the course of last year and early this year.

"This collection represents a period of reflection on spiritual matters, collective musical friendships, and a time and space universally, without words or languages to distract from meditation," explains a press release announcing the new album.

The first composition, 'Alice Moki Jayne', sees Moore paying homage to the spiritual and musical works of Alice Coltrane, Moki Cherry, and Jayne Cortez. 'Galaxies' on the second disc is an orchestral composition, which sees Moore acting as conductor and composer. It sees 12 guitarists playing together as if they were one instrument and takes inspiration from a Sun Ra poem. The final piece, '8 Spring Street' is an homage to Glenn Branca.

The book included in the box set is edited by Moore and includes photographs taken and compiled during the process of working on the album.

Spirit Counsel will be released on September 21 via The Daydream Library Series, the record label founded last year by Moore and Eva Prinz.