Xiu Xiu Detail New Duets Album, ‘OH NO’

Grouper, Chelsea Wolfe, Twin Shadow and more feature on the LP

Xiu Xiu have shared details of a new duets album.

OH NO is the duo’s twelfth studio album, and features a wide cast of collaborators that includes Grouper, Liars, Twin Shadow, Chelsea Wolfe, Sharon Van Etten, Circuit Des Yeux, Owen Pallett, and members of Deerhoof, among others. You can watch a video for the Grouper-featuring lead track ‘A Bottle Of Rum’, directed by Xiu Xiu’s Angela Seo, above.

"I had been trying to write a song on this bajo quinto to no avail and then drunkenly listened to the Grouper song ‘Heavy Water/I’d Rather Be Sleeping’," Xiu Xiu’s Jamie Stewart says of the new track. "A spark shone and feebly I tried to write something that, at least at first, sounded like it. I had asked Liz Harris, the gem behind Grouper and who is an old friend, if she would sing on this new record of duets. Initially I thought of her for another song but she specifically, although not knowing she had been the inspiration behind it in the first place, asked to be on this one. If the stars ever have aligned… well then."

Polyvinyl will release OH NO on March 26, 2021.

The Quietus Digest

Sign up for our free Friday email newsletter.

Support The Quietus

Our journalism is funded by our readers. Become a subscriber today to help champion our writing, plus enjoy bonus essays, podcasts, playlists and music downloads.

Support & Subscribe Today