Wire To Reissue First Three Albums

Three classic albums by Wire are set for reissue later this year. A special 7" boxset is also en route

Photo by Annette Green

The first three records by one of Britain’s most important post punk groups Wire are to be reissued on vinyl and CD.

1977’s Pink Flag, 1978’s Chairs Missing and 1979’s 154 will be re-released in two forms. On May 18 they will appear as special ‘CD books’, alongside a host of rarities and unreleased material. Standard CD and vinyl copies are out on June 22.

The band have also announced a Record Store Day exclusive box set of 7" singles, entitled Nine Sevens, out on April 21. The strictly limited collection compiles their first six singles for the Harvest Label, a single from 1980 previously unreleased on vinyl, and the rare EP originally given away with first pressings of 154.

The band will take part in a Q&A and signing session at Rough Trade East in London on May 19 to celebrate the release. They have also shared a stream of the single version of their classic ‘Outdoor Miner’, which you can listen to below.

The Quietus Digest

Sign up for our free Friday email newsletter.

Support The Quietus

Our journalism is funded by our readers. Become a subscriber today to help champion our writing, plus enjoy bonus essays, podcasts, playlists and music downloads.

Support & Subscribe Today