Teeth Of The Sea: New Album Details

Third album Master to be released in October

In March, we reported that firm Quietus favourites Teeth Of The Sea were readying their third album, and now we’ve got confirmation: Master, their follow-up to 2010’s Your Mercury, will be out on October 7 on Rocket Recordings.

Never ones to go in for half measures (the teaser the band gave us for the earlier post – watch below – should be awarded trailer of the year, and take a look at the photo above; that’s how you do a press shot), the text accompanying the announcement puts the album in fittingly astronomical terms: "a shattered mirrorball of a record fit to transform and transfix all that surrounds it in 2013 and beyond".

It also states that the band’s soundtrack work – Reaper, the live score to the re-interpretation of Neil Marshall’s Doomsday film, debuted at the 2011 Branchage Film Festival in Jersey, and their 2001: A Space Odyssey tribute Beyond The Transfinite, performed at Bestival 2012 – has played a huge role in the sound of the new album, as well as name-checking a few Quietus stereo mainstays, Byetone, Powell, Prurient, as influences. Plus, for the parting shot, they end with, "Kneel for the MASTER".

Head to Rocket’s website to pre-order the album; in the meantime, have a look at the tracklisting below with the album trailer following, and stay tuned for further TotS news:

  1. ‘Leder’
  1. ‘Reaper’
  1. ‘The Servant’
  1. ‘Blackstrategy’
  1. ‘Pleiades Underground/Inexorable Master’
  1. ‘Siren Spectre’

i) Phase 1

ii) Phase 2

  1. ‘Put Me On Your Shoulders So I Can See The Rats’
  1. ‘All Human Is Error’
  1. ‘Responder’

The Quietus Digest

Sign up for our free Friday email newsletter.

Support The Quietus

Our journalism is funded by our readers. Become a subscriber today to help champion our writing, plus enjoy bonus essays, podcasts, playlists and music downloads.

Support & Subscribe Today