Smalltown Supersound Details Remix Anthology Compilation

The 40-track release takes in contributions from Four Tet, Charli XCX, Ricardo Villalobos and more

Norwegian label Smalltown Supersound is releasing a compilation comprised of remixes released over the course of the label’s last 20 years.

Spanning 40 tracks, Remix Anthology Vol. 1​-​4 2002​-​2022 takes in contributions from the likes of Four Tet, Charli XCX, Ricardo Villalobos, DJ Harvey, Loraine James, Oneohtrix Point Never, The Orb, Optimo and DJ Python. There are also four previously unreleased remixes included across the set, from Prins Thomas, Idjut Boys, Scan 7 and Einstürzende Neubauten’s Alexander Hacke. Find the full tracklist here.

In a statement about the release, Smalltown Supersound founder Joakim Haugland said: "The remixes done for the artists on Smalltown Supersound have in my mind always been done with the idea that it should fit the label’s DNA. That it should be part of the red thread of the label. And that we one day would release the remixes on a compilation, and that the compilation would tell the story of the label and the artists. This remix collection has been in the back of my head for the last 20 years, but it’s only just now I finally felt that it all came together, as a larger whole."

Smalltown Supersound was founded in 1993, and has since gone on to release work by the likes of Biosphere, Kelly Lee Owens, Perila, Lindstrøm, Carmen Villain, Nissenenmondai and more.

Smalltown Supersound will release Remix Anthology Vol. 1​-​4 2002​-​2022 on April 14, 2023.

The Quietus Digest

Sign up for our free Friday email newsletter.

Support The Quietus

Our journalism is funded by our readers. Become a subscriber today to help champion our writing, plus enjoy bonus essays, podcasts, playlists and music downloads.

Support & Subscribe Today