Arca, Four Tet And More Contribute To Locked Grooves Record

The record is the product of a partnership between UK label PLZ Make It Ruins and Arts Council England

PLZ Make It Ruins, the UK label run by producer Vegyn, is putting out a charity record comprised of locked grooves.

The result of funding support from Arts Council England, Locked Grooves is a 40-track record featuring loops of "1.8 seconds or one bar of music", all at 133.33 BPM. Among the artists who’ve contributed loops are Arca, Four Tet, Blood Orange, Mica Levi, Loraine James, Floating Points, Duval Timothy, SHYGIRL, Eris Drew, Octo Octa, Overmono and Skrillex. You can listen to Octo Octa’s contribution, ‘My Heart’, above.

Proceeds from the release will be divided between the ACLU and Liberty UK, and the record will be available exclusively via the PLZ Make It Ruins site.

PLZ Make It Ruins will release Locked Grooves on December 4, 2020.

The Quietus Digest

Sign up for our free Friday email newsletter.

Support The Quietus

Our journalism is funded by our readers. Become a subscriber today to help champion our writing, plus enjoy bonus essays, podcasts, playlists and music downloads.

Support & Subscribe Today