WATCH: Pet Shop Boys – Axis

First look at new album Electric, out in July

Pet Shop Boys have revealed details about their new album, Electric (artwork above), set for release on July 15 on their own label x2 – watch the video for the ace opening track ‘Axis’ below:

The album will have eight new Pet Shop Boys songs and a cover of Bruce Springsteen’s ‘The Last To Die’, and is the first to be produced by Stuart Price, former collaborator with New Order, Madonna and Kylie Minogue, who’d previously arranged the duo’s 2009-2010 Pandemonium Tour.

Says Price: "Making Electric was an exciting experience. We recorded it between Berlin, London and Los Angeles using various techniques between old school synth and drum machine programming and new school computer mangling. For me it was a chance to work with two people who shaped so much of my musical taste, yet who keep on pushing farther in both a natural and unexpected fashion. Disco was an album that always spoke to me because it blended song arrangements with dance floor mixes, and that is what Electric felt like to make. Allowing songs to be full length without considering the pop rules, disregarding classic structures and instead just working instinctively on what was fun and danceable."

The duo are about to embark on a mammoth world tour in support of the album, with UK stops at London’s O2 Arena on June 18 and the Manchester Arena on June 20. In the meantime, you can pre-order the album here.

The Quietus Digest

Sign up for our free Friday email newsletter.

Support The Quietus

Our journalism is funded by our readers. Become a subscriber today to help champion our writing, plus enjoy bonus essays, podcasts, playlists and music downloads.

Support & Subscribe Today