Martha Skye Murphy Unveils Debut Album, ‘Um’

claire rousay and Roy Montgomery are among the guest artists who appear on the record

Martha Skye Murphy has shared details of her debut album, Um.

Set for release in June, the 11-track record was co-produced by Murphy with Ethan P. Flynn, while claire rousay and Roy Montgomery appear as guest artists. There are also contributions from caroline’s Alex McKenzie and Squid’s Laurie Nankivell, among others, over the course of the record.

In a statement, Murphy said: “I wanted the album to feel like this constant tension between being in a very intimate domestic space, and then propelled into a far stranger environment that is difficult to situate. I want people to feel disoriented, erotically charged by the intimacy of a bedroom, then catapulted into a desert.”

To mark the announcement of Um, she has shared a video for lead song ‘Pick Yourself Up’, which you can watch below. The track, Murphy said in a press release, is “an ode to mistrust, Fred & Ginger, and clear days”.

AD 93 will release Um on June 14, 2024.

The Quietus Digest

Sign up for our free Friday email newsletter.

Support The Quietus

Our journalism is funded by our readers. Become a subscriber today to help champion our writing, plus enjoy bonus essays, podcasts, playlists and music downloads.

Support & Subscribe Today