LISTEN: New Liars Track And LP Announcement

Liars will release a new 17-track album in September, billed as a 'sequel' to 2017's brilliant 'TFCF'

Liars will release a new studio album later this year, named Titles With The Word Fountain and out via Mute on digital and cassette on September 21, and on vinyl on November 2.

The record is made up of material recorded during the sessions for last year’s acclaimed record TFCF, and is billed as a ‘sequel’ to that record. You can hear the first taste of it, ‘Murdrum’, below.

Liars’ Angus Andrew explained of the relationship between the two albums: "To me it’s more like a sequel. I chose the songs that appear on TFCF based on how well they addressed the trauma of a failed creative relationship, whereas the material on Titles With The Word Fountain is more playful despite revolving around the same sentiments."

Andrew is now the sole remaining permanent member of Liars, with his long-term creative partner Aaron Hemphill leaving before the start of TFCF.

“There was a lot of pressure in producing TFCF as it was guaranteed to be framed by the lack of band members," Andrew continued. With Titles With The Word Fountain I felt stripped of that burden and more free to include work that could be construed as unclear or abstract.”

Hemphill went on to release music as Nonpareils earlier this year. His last work with Andrew was also released this year, the soundtrack to the film 1/1.

The Quietus Digest

Sign up for our free Friday email newsletter.

Support The Quietus

Our journalism is funded by our readers. Become a subscriber today to help champion our writing, plus enjoy bonus essays, podcasts, playlists and music downloads.

Support & Subscribe Today