John Cale Details First New Album In A Decade, ‘MERCY’

It features production from Animal Collective, Actress, Laurel Halo and more

John Cale will kick off 2023 with the release of his first new album of original songs in a decade.

Titled MERCY, the 12-track record sees the Welshman link up with a number of acts, including Animal Collective, Actress, Laurel Halo, Fat White Family and Weyes Blood, who appears on lead cut ‘STORY OF BLOOD’, for which you can watch a video above.

In a statement about ‘STORY OF BLOOD’, Cale said: "I’d been listening to Weyes Blood’s latest record and remembered Natalie’s puritanical vocals. I thought if I could get her to come and sing with me on the ‘Swing your soul’ section, and a few other harmonies, it would be beautiful. What I got from her was something else! Once I understood the versatility in her voice, it was as if I’d written the song with her in mind all along. Her range and fearless approach to tonality was an unexpected surprise. There’s even a little passage in there where she’s a dead-ringer for Nico."

Domino will release MERCY on January 20, 2023.

The Quietus Digest

Sign up for our free Friday email newsletter.

Support The Quietus

Our journalism is funded by our readers. Become a subscriber today to help champion our writing, plus enjoy bonus essays, podcasts, playlists and music downloads.

Support & Subscribe Today