Jlin Unveils New Album, ‘Akoma’

The US producer's third studio full-length features collaborations with Björk and Philip Glass

Jlin is set to release a new album through Planet Mu in March.

Titled Akoma, the 11-track record is the US producer’s third studio full-length effort and follows on from last year’s Perspective mini-album. This latest LP features collaborations with Björk, Kronos Quartet and Philip Glass, who features on the lead track ‘The Precision Of Infinity’. You can listen to that just below.

As with Jlin’s previous work, Akoma sees her fold various classical, minimalist and jazz influences, among other sounds, into the 160 BPM rhythmic framework of Chicago footwork. It comes off the back of various collaborative projects with the likes of Holly Herndon, SOPHIE and Kronos Quartet in recent years.

The release of Akoma will be supported by a series of European live shows in April, which will take Jlin to The Hague’s Rewire festival, Barcelona’s MUTEK, Bozar in Brussels, and the Roundhouse in London.

Planet Mu will release Akoma on March 22, 2024.

The Quietus Digest

Sign up for our free Friday email newsletter.

Support The Quietus

Our journalism is funded by our readers. Become a subscriber today to help champion our writing, plus enjoy bonus essays, podcasts, playlists and music downloads.

Support & Subscribe Today