Immersion Unveil New Album, ‘Nanocluster Vol. 2’

Colin Newman of Wire and Malka Spigel of Minimal Compact link up with Holy Fuck's Matt Schulz and others for the release

Immersion, the duo of Wire’s Colin Newman and Minimal Compact’s Malka Spigel, have shared details of a new album, Nanocluster Vol. 2.

Spanning 11 tracks, the full record features drums from Holy Fuck’s Matt Schulz, and is split into two parts: one featuring former Swans percussionist Thor Harris, and the other featuring Cubzoa, the solo project of Jack Wolter from Penelope Isles. To mark the album’s announcement, Immersion have shared ‘Other Ways’, which appears on the Cubzoa side of the LP and can be listened to above.

In a statement about the Nanocluster series of albums, Spigel described it as "collaboration but in a very specific form", adding: "We don’t have rules. It’s a series of creative snapshots. We start with a gig with our collaborators with tracks that we rehearse because this is not a jam and where it stops is an album."

swim ~ will release Nanocluster Vol. 2 on June 14, 2024.

The Quietus Digest

Sign up for our free Friday email newsletter.

Support The Quietus

Our journalism is funded by our readers. Become a subscriber today to help champion our writing, plus enjoy bonus essays, podcasts, playlists and music downloads.

Support & Subscribe Today