Radiohead’s Ed O’Brien Details Solo Album

The album, his first solo effort, is preceded by lead track 'Shangri-La'

Radiohead guitarist Ed O’Brien has announced details of his debut solo album as EOB.

Titled Earth, the album is preceded by lead track ‘Shangri La’ which you can hear above. Its announcement follows on from the release of non-album track ‘Santa Teresa’ and another track, ‘Brasil’, which features on the album.

The nine-track Earth features O’Brien on vocals, guitar, bass, keyboards, percussion and programming, while he also called upon an ensemble of musicians to contribute to the record, including Radiohead bandmate Colin Greenwood, Portishead guitarist Adrian Utley, Wilco drummer Glenn Kotche, Laura Marling, David Okumu of The Invisible and more.

Polydor will release Earth on April 17.

Radiohead recently launched a digital archive called the Radiohead Public Library, taking in set recordings, rarities, videos and more from throughout the band’s career.

The Quietus Digest

Sign up for our free Friday email newsletter.

Support The Quietus

Our journalism is funded by our readers. Become a subscriber today to help champion our writing, plus enjoy bonus essays, podcasts, playlists and music downloads.

Support & Subscribe Today