LISTEN: Daniel Rossen – ‘Saint Nothing’

Listen to new solo track from Grizzly Bear's Daniel Rossen, taken from his upcoming Warp EP

Grizzly Bear’s Daniel Rossen is to release a new EP, entitled Silent Hour/Golden Mile, through Warp on March 20th. It’s set to feature five solo songs, including ‘Saint Nothing’, which you can listen to below. It’s a pretty, sparse, stripped-down thing that recalls some of Grizzly Bear’s more spacious moments.

The EP was recorded by Rossen in various spaces in New York, with many of the songs taking shape swiftly and in only a few takes.

"Whenever possible, I like just keeping the very first impression of an idea the first take of something," said Rossen of that approach. "You very rarely get to do that because the recording quality is below standard. It’s very liberating to just leave it.”

The tracklisting for Silent Hour/Golden Mile runs as follows:

‘Up On High’

‘Silent Song’

‘Return To Form’

‘Saint Nothing’

‘Golden Mile’

The Quietus Digest

Sign up for our free Friday email newsletter.

Support The Quietus

Our journalism is funded by our readers. Become a subscriber today to help champion our writing, plus enjoy bonus essays, podcasts, playlists and music downloads.

Support & Subscribe Today