Dais Records Reveals Reissue Of Soisong’s 2008 EP ‘QXn948s’

The record was the sole release by the duo comprised of Coil's Peter "Sleazy" Christopherson and COH's Ivan Pavlov

Dais Records is reissuing a 2008 EP by SoiSong, the short-lived project of Coil’s Peter "Sleazy" Christopherson and COH’s Ivan Pavlov.

Originally released on CD and digital formats, the four-track qXn948s was the sole release by the duo. They took their name from the Thai word for ‘two’, as well as a notorious red-light district street nearby. Speaking in a statement about the project, Pavlov said it was a "utopian, semi-alien platform for collaboration, devoid of pronounced personality or centralised authority," adding that the pair’s working relationship was "unspoken and sincere, and very efficient."

In addition to a digital release, Dais Records’ reissue of qXn948s will see the EP pressed to vinyl for the first time, and available in several different colours. You can listen to opening track ‘Kabuki-Chop’ above.

Dais Records will release qXn948s on December 2, 2022.

The Quietus Digest

Sign up for our free Friday email newsletter.

Support The Quietus

Our journalism is funded by our readers. Become a subscriber today to help champion our writing, plus enjoy bonus essays, podcasts, playlists and music downloads.

Support & Subscribe Today