Conny Plank Tribute Album Announced

Four disc box set due next year featuring career highlights, live material and remixes from Walls and Jens-Uwe Beyer

This year marks the 25th anniversary of the far too early death of German producer Conny Plank, whose list of credits takes in Kraftwerk, Can, NEU!, Brian Eno and Eurythmics among others (Eno also famously recommended Plank to be the producer for U2’s The Joshua Tree; after being introduced to the band, Plank declined, telling Eno "I cannot work with this singer"), as well as performing in his own right with Möbius & Plank, Cluster and Trioformation.

To mark the date, Grönland Records are releasing a four-disc box set, Who’s That Man, compiling some of his best production work alongside a remix album, which sees cuts by Cluster & Brian Eno, Eurythmics and NEU! reworked by Walls, Jens-Uwe Beyer and others. There’s also a live album, which documents Plank, Dieter Möbius and Arno Steffen’s 1986 tour of South America as Trioformation.

The box set will be released on February 11 2013; in the meantime, have a look at the tracklisting below:


  1. Arno Steffen – ‘Hörprobe’
  1. Eno/Möbius/Rödelius – ‘Broken Head’
  1. Phew – ‘Signal’
  1. Eurythmics – ‘Le Sinistre’
  1. Michael Rother – ‘Feuerland’
  1. La Düsseldorf – ‘Silver Cloud’
  1. Psychotic Tanks – ‘Let’s have a party’ [rare]
  1. Möbius & Plank – ‘Conditionierer’
  1. Möbius/Plank/Thompson – ‘Farmer Gabriel [rare]’
  1. Möbius/Plank/Neumeier – ‘Pitch Control’
  1. D.A.F. – ‘Alles ist Gut’
  1. NEU! – ‘Leb Wohl!’


  1. Ibliss – ‘Drops’
  1. Rödelius – ‘Regenmacher’
  1. Streetmark – ‘Eleanor Rigby’
  1. NEU! – ‘Negativland’
  1. Psychotik Tanks – ‘Security Idiots’
  1. D.A.F. – ‘Was ziehst du an’
  1. Möbius & Plank – ‘Automatic’
  1. Fritz Müller – ‘Fritz Müller Traum’
  1. Blue Point Underground – ‘Conny Plank’ [rare]
  1. Konrad Plank – ‘Weihnachtssong’ [rare]

DISC THREE [previously unreleased material]

  1. Cluster & Eno – Jens-Uwe Beyer remix
  1. Le Sinistre – Kreidler remix
  1. Broken Head – Automat remix
  1. Cluster & Eno – Walls remix
  1. Eurythmics – Take Me To Your Heart remix
  1. Feuerland – Justus Köhncke remix
  1. NEU! – Eye remix

DISC FOUR [previously unreleased material]

Möbius/Plank/Steffen – live in Mexico 1986

The Quietus Digest

Sign up for our free Friday email newsletter.

Support The Quietus

Our journalism is funded by our readers. Become a subscriber today to help champion our writing, plus enjoy bonus essays, podcasts, playlists and music downloads.

Support & Subscribe Today