Can Albums Set For Vinyl Reissue On Mute

Label releasing all 14 studio albums and two rarities collections, with The Lost Tapes following as individual volumes; listen to Serpentine from Out Of Reach below

Mute have announced that they’ll be continuing their reissue of all of Can’s studio albums this month. Monster Movie, Soundtracks, Tago Mago, Ege Bamyasi, Future Days, Soon Over Babaluma, Landed, Flow Motion and Saw Delight are out now, with Out Of Reach, Can and Rite Time, alongside the rarities collections Unlimited Edition and Delay, joining them on August 18. Out Of Reach hasn’t been in print since 1978 and will be available for the first time on CD and download.

It comes after the label put out The Lost Tapes, put together by the band’s Irmin Schmidt and Daniel Miller, founder of Mute, as a box set in 2012. Excitingly, that will be made available as five individual volumes, coming out in November. Read Taylor Parkes’ feature-length review of The Lost Tapes here, and the band and Jono Podmore giving an oral history of its compilation here. To whet your appetite, give ‘Serpentine’ from Out Of Reach a play below, and head here here to make some purchases.

The Quietus Digest

Sign up for our free Friday email newsletter.

Support The Quietus

Our journalism is funded by our readers. Become a subscriber today to help champion our writing, plus enjoy bonus essays, podcasts, playlists and music downloads.

Support & Subscribe Today