Brian Eno’s Music For Films To Be Subject Of New Compilation

'Film Music 1976-2020' takes in work produced for directors such as David Lynch, Derek Jarman, Danny Boyle and more

Some of Brian Eno’s film and television soundtrack work is to be collected in one release for the first time.

Film Music 1976-2020 takes in 17 tracks in all, with its tracklist encompassing classic Eno compositions, lesser-known pieces and seven previously unreleased cuts. Amongst the earliest pieces featured is ‘Final Sunset’ from Sebastiane, the 1976 film by Derek Jarman. (‘Dover Beach’ from 1978’s Derek Jarman-directed Jubilee also makes an appearance.)

Elsewhere, there’s music for David Lynch’s 1984 film Dune, Danny Boyle’s Trainspotting, Michael Mann’s Heat, Michelangelo Antonioni’s Beyond The Clouds and the first two series of hit TV show Top Boy. You can listen to ‘Ship In A Bottle’, made for Peter Jackson’s 2009 film The Lovely Bones, above, and find full details on the release here.

Universal Music will release Film Music 1976-2020 on November 13, 2020.

The Quietus Digest

Sign up for our free Friday email newsletter.

Support The Quietus

Our journalism is funded by our readers. Become a subscriber today to help champion our writing, plus enjoy bonus essays, podcasts, playlists and music downloads.

Support & Subscribe Today