Audiovisual National Trust Project

New multi-medium digital artwork by the National Trust set to launch in November with contribution from Martyn Ware

‘One and All’, launching this November, is a new National Trust-commissioned project promising a “digital voyage through sight, sound and sea”.

The Trust are working in collaboration with Sound UK to create an online audiovisual and interactive artwork with a virtual coastal landscape, as well as three further works examining our relationship with the sea. The documentary film maker and founder of Artdocs, along with digital agency The Swarm, have been teaming up with the National Trust for production. Martyn Ware from The Human League and Heaven 17, will be composing a meditative dreamscape based on new recordings from post-industrial coastal locations (Orford Ness, Ynys Barri and the Black Beaches) as well as selections from the sound archives at the British Library. Welsh writer Owen Sheers (the first resident author appointed by a national rugby team), will be writing a new poem based on his time spent living in the Gower Peninsula area following his residency there, while artist Tania Kovats perhaps most well-known for her ‘Tree’ installation in the National History Museum, will be creating a visual representation of the journey of the British tide as it splits in two at Land’s End. The artwork will be animated as it follows the tide as it engulfs the whole island before meeting again at the Thames estuary.

‘One and All’ will be marking the 50th anniversary of Project Neptune, the National Trust’s campaign for the conservation of coastal land in the UK, and celebrating the 750 miles of coastline that Project Neptune looks after. The whole project has been funded publicly through the National Lottery, Arts Council England and by the PRS for Music Foundation.

The Quietus Digest

Sign up for our free Friday email newsletter.

Support The Quietus

Our journalism is funded by our readers. Become a subscriber today to help champion our writing, plus enjoy bonus essays, podcasts, playlists and music downloads.

Support & Subscribe Today