The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Animal Collective Reveal 'Merriweather Post Pavilion' Reissue
Christian Eede , March 13th, 2024 19:26

The vinyl repress marks 15 years since the album's release

Animal Collective are reissuing their 2009 album Merriweather Post Pavilion.

Marking 15 years since its original release, the album will be pressed to colour vinyl for the first time, with a 2xLP edition available in translucent green and 'bluish'. A further edition exclusive to Domino's online store will include a 10-inch vinyl of the single 'My Girls', backed by a recording of the band's unreleased song 'From A Beach' captured during a 2007 session for BBC Radio 1.

Released in January 2009, Merriweather Post Pavilion was Animal Collective's eighth studio album. The group recorded it as a trio, with Panda Bear, Avey Tare and Geologist working on tracks to be played without guitar after guitarist Deakin decided to take time out from the band for personal reasons.

The album was met with wide critical acclaim, with three singles going on to receive release through 2009: 'My Girls', 'Summertime Clothes' and 'Brother Sport'. The group toured the record extensively before working on its follow-up, 2012's Centipede Hz.

Domino will release Merriweather Post Pavilion on June 28, 2024.