The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Mute Unveils These Immortal Souls Reissues
Christian Eede , January 24th, 2024 15:09

The post-punk group's two studio albums are to be re-released along with a new collection of unheard rarities and live recordings

Mute has detailed plans to revisit the output of Australian post-punk band These Immortal Souls.

The band's two studio albums – 1987's Get Lost (Don't Lie!) and 1992's I'm Never Gonna Die Again – have been remastered for a reissue which will mark the first time both records have been available since their original release. The label will also release a newly compiled additional collection, Extra, which will be made up of previously unheard rarities and live recordings. You can listen to a previously unreleased cover of Alice Cooper's 'Luney Tune', from Extra, above.

Formed in London in 1987, These Immortal Souls included Crime & The City Solution's Harry and Rowland S. Howard, and Kevin Godfrey, among their lineup, having come together to form the new project after not being invited to recording sessions for Crime & The City Solution's album Shine. Genevieve McGuckin completed the band's original lineup, and they released two studio albums together. The project officially came to an end in 1998.

Mute will release Get Lost (Don't Lie!), I'm Never Gonna Die Again and Extra on April 12, 2024.