The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Moor Mother Lines Up New Album, 'The Great Bailout'
Christian Eede , January 18th, 2024 18:00

Out in March, it takes in contributions from Lonnie Holley, Mary Lattimore and more

Moor Mother has shared details of her ninth studio album, The Great Bailout.

Comprised of nine tracks, it features contributions from Lonnie Holley, Mary Lattimore, Angel Bat Dawid and Aaron Dilloway, among others. The album explores themes based around the effects of British colonialism, particularly the loan that was taken out under the 1835 Slavery Abolition Act by the British Government in order to 'compensate' 46,000 slave owners who were losing their 'property' because of the legal abolition of slavery. You can listen to lead track 'Guilty', which features Lonnie Holley, Mary Lattimore and Raia Was, above.

In a statement about the themes covered on The Great Bailout, Moor Mother, AKA Camae Ayewa, said: "Research is a major part of my work, and researching history – particularly African history, philosophy and time – is a major interest. Europe and Africa have a very intimate and brutal relationship throughout time. I'm interested in exploring that relationship of colonialism and liberation, in this case in Great Britain."

ANTI- will release The Great Bailout on March 8, 2024.