The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Pauline Anna Strom's First Three Albums To Be Reissued
Christian Eede , August 17th, 2023 15:41

The three records will be collected together with a previously unreleased album on new set 'Echoes, Spaces, Lines'

RVNG Intl. is reissuing Pauline Anna Strom's first three albums in a new box set, titled Echoes, Spaces, Lines.

Out in November, the new release collects tracks from the three records that Strom released between 1982 and 1984: Trans-Millenia Consort, Plot Zero and Spectre. All three albums have been remastered and restored from their original tapes by musician and audio engineer Marta Salogni, and will be presented alongside a previously unheard album, Oceans Of Tears, which completes the set. You can watch a video for 'Quiet Joy', lifted from the latter album, above.

Much of Strom's music was released across a six-year period between 1982 and 1988, and recorded from her home on the West Coast of the US. Regarded as a key figure in the evolution of new age ambient music, much of her early material was originally released without much fanfare before going on to reach wider audiences via online word of mouth in the decades that followed. She passed away in 2020 at the age of 74.

RVNG Intl. will release Echoes, Spaces, Lines on November 10, 2023.