The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Irreversible Entanglements Sign To Impulse! For New Album
Christian Eede , July 27th, 2023 10:33

The free jazz collective's first record for the label, 'Protect Your Light', is out in September

Irreversible Entanglement have signed to jazz label Impulse! for the release of their next album, Protect Your Light.

Taking in seven tracks, the free jazz collective's new album will follow on from 2021's Open The Gates. The group – comprised of vocalist Camae Ayewa (AKA Moor Mother), saxophonist Keir Neuringer, bassist Luke Stewart, trumpeter Aquiles Navarro and drummer Tschesher Holmes – recorded Protect Your Light over the course of three days in January of this year, and also invited pianist Janice A. Lowe, cellist Lester St. Louis and vocalist Sovei to contribute to the record. You can watch a video for lead cut 'Free Love' above.

Impulse! will release Protect Your Light on September 8, 2023.