The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Tom Waits To Reissue Island Records Back Catalogue
Christian Eede , July 13th, 2023 14:51

All five of his albums for the major label have been remastered from the original tapes

Tom Waits is reissuing his Island Records back catalogue, covering the five albums he released with the major label between 1983 and 1993.

Physical reissues on CD, 180-gram black vinyl and colour vinyl will first be made available of Swordfishtrombones (1983), Rain Dogs (1985) and Franks Wild Years (1987) in September, before all three physical formats are released of Bone Machine (1992) and The Black Rider (1993) a month later. All of the albums have been remastered from their original tapes, and all of the reissues have been overseen in part by Waits himself. All five remastered records are also available for streaming right now.

Island will release Swordfishtrombones, Rain Dogs and Franks Wild Years on September 1, 2023, and Bone Machine and The Black Rider on October 6, 2023.