The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Jam City Details New Album, 'Jam City Presents EMF'
Christian Eede , March 22nd, 2023 17:21

His fourth full-length record will be released through his own Earthly label

Jam City has shared details of a new album, titled Jam City Presents EMF.

Spanning 10 tracks, the record features contributions from Clara La San, Wet, Empress Of and Show Me The Body's Julian Cashwan-Pratt, who appeared on the previously released track 'Redd St. Turbulence'. To mark the new album's announcement, Jam City has shared another new cut, 'Times Square', which features vocals from Aidan and a sample of a track by Detroit DJ and producer Omar-S. Watch a video for the track above.

Discussing his motivations for Jam City Presents EMF, the producer, real name Jack Latham, said in a statement: "When I first started writing this record, in my head, I was 18, back in the Liquid & Envy in my hometown of Redhill on a Saturday Night. Fuck London, I'd only been a few times for school trips anyway. This was where it was at.

"Walking through the doors to Photek's 'Mine To Give', it felt like you'd walked into Studio 54 or something. There's a mural of the Manhattan skyline preposterously splashed over the bar, neon everywhere and the floors are sticky with cheap champagne. Shivering in the rain-soaked car park, a group of girls from my school share a lighter with the local bikers in their leathers; Harley, Honda, Yamaha…"

Jam City Presents EMF marks Latham's fourth full-length record as Jam City, following on from the Night Slugs-released Classical Curves and Dream A Garden, and 2020 album Pillowland. He also recently reissued Classical Curves via his own Earthly label to mark its 10th anniversary.

Earthly will release Jam City Presents EMF on June 1, 2023.