The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Animal Collective Reveal 'Spirit They're Gone, Spirit They've Vanished' Reissue
Christian Eede , March 13th, 2023 16:37

The band's debut album will be re-released alongside a bonus EP of additional tracks

Animal Collective are reissuing their 2000 debut album, Spirit They're Gone, Spirit They've Vanished.

Set to be made available on CD, vinyl and digital formats, the reissue will include remastered audio, new artwork and a bonus EP, A Night At Mr. Raindrop's Holistic Supermarket, featuring five previously unreleased tracks which were recorded around the same time as their first album – one of the cuts is a cover of Fleetwood Mac's 'Dreams'. You can listen to another of the previously unreleased tracks, 'Untitled #1', above.

Originally released in August 2000, Spirit They're Gone, Spirit They've Vanished marked the first collaborative recording between Animal Collective's Panda Bear and Avey Tare, and was later retrospectively reclassified as the group's debut album. It initially came out in a very limited CD-only pressing on their own Animal label.

Domino will release Spirit They're Gone, Spirit They've Vanished on May 12, 2023.