The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Mute Plots Recoil Reissues Series
Christian Eede , August 9th, 2022 18:44

Long out-of-print albums from Alan Wilder's solo project will be made available once again starting this October

Mute has shared plans to reissue a number of albums by Alan Wilder's solo project Recoil.

The series of remastered re-releases will begin this October with Wilder's final three albums as Recoil, 1997's Unsound Methods, 2000's Liquid and 2007's subHuman, which have all been long out of print until now. In addition to a release across digital formats, the reissue will be made available in CD and double coloured vinyl editions, while Wilder's first three Recoil albums will be reissued at a later date. You can listen to 'Drifting' from Unsound Methods above.

Speaking about the reissues in a statement, Wilder said: "Having not really listened in full to any of the Recoil albums for many years, the requirement to sit down and closely scrutinise the new test pressings meant that I was obliged to focus on everything once again. It was a surprising and pleasurable adventure to hear the work with fresh ears and I was able, perhaps properly for the first time, to experience all the detail which I had either forgotten about or hadn't fully appreciated at the time."

Mute will release Unsound Methods, Liquid and subHuman on October 7, 2022.