The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Adrian Sherwood To Release Compilation Of Female Dub Artists
Christian Eede , May 25th, 2022 18:59

The 10 tracks on 'No Dub Frontiers' were all produced by Sherwood with vocalists invited to add their contributions after

Adrian Sherwood is releasing a new compilation highlighting a number of female dub artists.

Spanning 10 tracks, all of the music on Adrian Sherwood Presents: Dub No Frontiers is produced by Sherwood, with a number of female artists within the dub music scene having been invited to add vocals after. In a statement about why he wanted to celebrate women in dub music, Sherwood said: "Many of the singers said they felt the dub/reggae arena was a male preserve and a little intimidating even, so we decided to invite artists to perform a song of their choice, all in non-English on our rhythm tracks." Listen to Rita Morar's track 'Meri Awaaz Suno (Hear My Voice)', lifted from the release, just below.

Real World Records will release Adrian Sherwood Presents: Dub No Frontiers on July 22, 2022.