The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Daniel Avery Gets Collaborative On New Album, 'Ultra Truth'
Christian Eede , May 20th, 2022 11:09

Out later this year, the record includes contributions from Manni Dee, Kelly Lee Owens, HTRK's Jonnine Standish and more

Daniel Avery has shared details of his fifth studio album, Ultra Truth.

Set for release in November as a joint venture between Phantasy and Mute, the album was produced in Avery's London studio with help from a number of friends and other artists. As well as production from Manni Dee and Ghost In The Machine, the record features vocals from HTRK's Jonnie Standish, HAAi and AK Paul, and the voices of Marie Davidson, Kelly Lee Owens, SHERELLE and James Massiah. Watch a video for lead track 'Chaos Energy' above.

Speaking about the album in a statement, Avery said: "Ultra Truth finds me in a different place to where I've been before. My previous albums have all focused on the idea of music being an escape or a distraction from the world but that's not the case this time. For me this album is about looking directly into the darkness, not running away from it. There's a way through these times but it involves keeping the important people in your life close to you and navigating the noise together."

While working on the record, Avery is said to have looked to a number of people that inspired him to first start making music as a teenager, including Deftones, Portishead and David Lynch. "I'm working with an entirely new world of sound on this record," he said. "Every single influence from the last decade spent on the road plays a part. Things that have been in the back of my mind forever, warped, distorted and pushed to a new place."

This is Avery's third album in two years, following 2020's Love + Light and last year's Together In Static.

Phantasy / Mute will release Ultra Truth on November 4, 2022.