The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Godflesh, Årabrot And More Rework Lustmord On New Release
Christian Eede , January 14th, 2022 16:14

A new box set collects 2008 album '[ O T H E R ]', as well as an extensive collection of new remixes

Godflesh, Årabrot, Zola Jesus and more have been enlisted to rework music by Lustmord for a new box set, The Others - Lustmord Deconstructed.

Set for release in April, the set pulls together the artist's 2008 studio album [ O T H E R ], as well as the two accompanying ambient remix albums Beyond and The Dark Places Of The Earth, both originally released in 2009. Alongside those three albums is a 3xLP set of reworks of Lustmord tracks by artists such as Ulver, Enslaved, Steve Von Till and the aforementioned Godflesh, Årabrot and Zola Jesus, among others. You can listen to Godflesh's take on 'Ashen' above.

In a statement about his remix, Godflesh said: "It's always a pleasure to tackle and attempt to reinterpret the work of Lustmord, especially considering that I have been a follower since the early '80s thanks to my research into SPK in that period. The first remix was in 2009, essentially in JK Flesh mode. This time the task was in Godflesh mode, and to work my own guitar into the remix, unlike the previous Lustmord remix where I had the guitar parts of Adam Jones (Tool) to experiment with."

Pelagic will release The Others - Lustmord Deconstructed on April 1, 2022.