The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Spiritualized Detail New Album, 'Everything Was Beautiful'
Christian Eede , November 2nd, 2021 15:28

It's the band's first studio album since 2018's 'And Nothing Hurt'

Spiritualized are releasing a new album, Everything Was Beautiful.

Spanning seven tracks, the record is the group's second full-length effort for Bella Union, following on from 2018's And Nothing Hurt. To mark the album's announcement, the band have shared a video for lead track and album opener 'Always Together With You', which you can watch above.

Everything Was Beautiful sees Spiritualized's J Spaceman, AKA Jason Pierce, play 16 different instruments. He also worked alongside more than 30 musicians and singers, including his daughter Poppy, long-time collaborator and friend John Coxon, string and brass sections, choirs, and finger bells and chimes from the Whitechapel Bell Foundry.

Speaking in a statement about the record, which went through a number of different mixes and demo stages, Pierce said: "There was so much information on it that the slightest move would unbalance it but going around in circles is important to me. Not like you're spiralling out of control, but you're going around and around and on each revolution, you hold onto the good each time. Sure, you get mistakes as well, but you hold on to some of those too, and that's how you kind of... achieve. Well, you get there."

Everything Was Beautiful comes off the back of a series of Spiritualized album reissues that were released over the course of 2021. The band will support the album's release with a tour running from March to May, including a date at London's Roundhouse on May 10.

Bella Union will release Everything Was Beautiful on February 25, 2022.