The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Ostgut Ton Celebrates 16 Years With New Compilation
Christian Eede , October 14th, 2021 13:20

'Fünfzehn +1' collects a number of collaborative works from artists close to the label and Berghain

Ostgut Ton is marking its 16th anniversary with the release of a new compilation, titled Fünfzehn +1.

Spanning 20 tracks, which will be released digitally, on 2xCD and in a 5x12" box set, the compilation features a number of collaborative pieces from artists close to the label and Berlin's Berghain club. There are first-time collaborations from the likes of Martyn and Duval Timothy; Len Faki and Honey Dijon; Terence Fixmer and Phase Fatale; Barker and Luke Slater; Marcel Dettmann and Norman Nodge; Ben Klock and Etapp Kyle; Avalon Emerson and Roi Perez; Jessica Ekomane and Zoë Mc Pherson; and Oren Ambarchi, Konrad Sprenger and Phillip Sollmann. Find a full tracklist via Bandcamp.

A statement from Ostgut Ton about the compilation reads: "Originally planned for release in 2020, the music focuses on the interwoven nature of the label and the club in its multitude of different spaces and musical facets. Ostgut Ton artists and close affiliates worked together in pairs to make music dedicated to five different floors, each represented by a specific 12" vinyl."

Ostgut Ton paired together a number of the artists who've worked on music for the release during a three-day livestream from inside Berghain's Halle room, which was broadcast online in July.

Ostgut Ton will release Fünfzehn +1 on November 5, 2021.