The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Nyege Nyege Tapes Details Second Singeli-Focused Compilation
Christian Eede , August 6th, 2021 12:56

'Sounds Of Pamoja', out next month, is also accompanied by a new NTS short film on singeli music, which is available now

Nyege Nyege Tapes is releasing a second double-vinyl compilation of Tanzanian singeli music, Sounds Of Pamoja.

Due out next month, the release takes in 11 tracks and covers the work of seven rappers, as well as various beatmakers. It offers a full snapshot of the breakneck speed and gabber-inspired sound that characterises singeli music, with verses appearing from local MCs such as Dogo Kibo, Dogo Lizzy, MC Kuke, MC Dinho, MC Kidene, MC Pilato and MCZO. All of the recordings were captured at Pamoja Records, a singeli studio located in Tanzania's capital city, Dar Es Salaam.

Alongside the compilation's announcement, NTS has also unveiled a mini-documentary about the genre and culture around it, Singeli Sound: High Speed. The film includes interviews with a number of the scene's key figures, including the founders of Pamoja Records and another important singeli label, Sisso Records.

"Wherever you turn in Dar Es Salaam, one of the largest cities in Tanzania, you hear this intensely sped up music," NTS said in a statement about the documentary. "It's a scene that's pretty indescribable and you have to see to believe. This mini documentary is a look into this world." You can watch the film above.

This is Nyege Nyege Tapes' second singeli-focused compilation, following 2017's Sounds Of Sisso, which focused on music coming out of the Sisso Records studio, also based in Dar Es Salaam. The release featured on our list of the 40 best genre compilations of all-time back in 2018.

Nyege Nyege Tapes will release Sounds Of Pamoja on September 17, 2021.