The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Laraaji And More Feature On New Release From Nicolás Jaar
Christian Eede , August 3rd, 2021 15:02

'Caves – A Compilation Of Silences' is the latest release on Jaar's Other People label

Nicolás Jaar has enlisted a number of musicians to feature on a new compilation for his Other People label.

Out today, Caves – A Compilation Of Silences features eight compositions which begin and end with music, but have a timed section of silence in the middle. Among the artists who've contributed pieces to the release are Laraaji, Lucrecia Dalt, Will Epstein, Aho Ssan and Jaar himself. The compilation is available as a pay-what-you-want digital release.

"I made the 20-minute timer initially for myself so that I didn't have to use my phone alarm when I meditated," says Jaar of the compilation's concept. "I imagine these could be used as timers for anything: cooking, running, taking a short nap, etc. I hope they're useful in these loud times."

All proceeds from the release of Caves will go to the Dongyu Gatsal Ling Nunnery, a space in India which gives girls and young women a chance "to develop their academic and spiritual potential."

Caves – A Compilation Of Silences is out now on Other People.