The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


The Melvins Detail New Acoustic Collection, 'Five Legged Dog'
Christian Eede , July 22nd, 2021 15:01

The band have acoustically reworked 36 tracks from across their discography for the release

The Melvins are releasing a career-spanning, newly recorded acoustic album called Five Legged Dog.

The record, which is the band's first acoustic collection, sees the trio rework 36 tracks from across their discography, including tracks such as 'Night Goat' (which you can listen to above), 'Honey Bucket' and 'Billy Fish'. There are also covers of the Rolling Stones, Alice Cooper and Brainiac, as well as acoustic versions of a number of band rarities. Butthole Surfers' Jeff Pinkus contributes vocals to two tracks.

"I knew I wanted to do something ridiculously big," Buzz Osborne says of the album. "36 songs reimagined by us acoustically is certainly ridiculous but it works. The magic of the songs is still there regardless of it being acoustic. Since we weren't touring, we had the time to do something of this size."

Ipecac will release Five Legged Dog on October 15, 2021.