The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Chinabot Announces Fourth Anniversary Album And Gig
Patrick Clarke , June 10th, 2021 12:08

The label and collective will mark four years with a packed bill at London's Cafe OTO

London-based label and collective Chinabot, dedicated to "chang[ing] the dialogue surrounding Asian music," has shared details of a fourth anniversary compilation album, as well as plans for a gig at London's Cafe OTO.

The album, Tetra Hysteria Manifesto, collects 14 tracks from artists affiliated with the label, as well as a number of new names. It's released on July 23 and available for pre-order via Bandcamp. It is based thematically around the number four, considered unlucky in parts of Asia.

The release includes new material from Korean musician Arexibo, Kyoto's Seakata, Shangai-based producer Laughing Ears, and a collaboration between Jaeho Hwang and his niece and nephew for a "cathartic electronic lullaby."

The compilation also takes in a collaboration between OHYUNG and Korean-American luci liyou; Thai musician Pisitakun's "soundtrack to the 2010 Thai military crackdown;" and an improvised piece by French avant-garde cellist Vincent Laju and South Korean Samin. Finally, the record will mark the Chinabot debut of West Borneo instrument builder Juan Arminandi, and Vietnamese band Rắn Cạp Đuôi.

A special release party will take place at London's Cafe OTO on July 24. The bill features Iranian qanun player, composer and improviser Nilufar Habibian, experimental sitar player and industrial noise musician Poulomi Desai, and tQ tape columnist Daryl Worthington under his Bleachers moniker.

Prolific Egyptian artist Cerpintxt, and ONY, who combine Asian R&B and hip-hop, ambient, and city pop, complete the bill. You can purchase tickets here.

Chinabot will release Tetra Hysteria Manifesto on July 23, 2021.