The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Ryuichi Sakamoto And More Feature On New Six-Minute Album
Christian Eede , February 18th, 2021 16:42

'PRSNT' is comprised of 32-second pieces by a wide cast of artists

Barcelona label Modern Obscure Music has shared details of a new six-minute album which features contributions from Ryuichi Sakamoto, Laurie Spiegel and Lyra Pramuk, among others.

PRSNT aims to comment on digital overload, social media addiction and 21st century music consumption, with a wide cast of artists each contributing 32-second pieces to the record. Other artists that feature include Visible Cloaks, Lafawndah, Lucrecia Dalt, Kelman Duran, and Pedro Vian & Pierre Bastien. You can listen to Visible Cloaks' contribution, 'Lifeworld', just below.

The compilation was put together by Christian Lopez and Pedro Rufi, who run Modern Obscure Music. They came across a study which "identified that the overwhelming volume of instantly accessible information online is shortening attention spans and altering how audiences engage with music digitally."

Making further research on the topic, the pair found that "around a third of all listeners using digital platforms skip to the next track, within the first 30 seconds of playing."

Proceeds from the release will be donated to a mental health charity in order to help "fund the fight against the real-life impacts of excessive over consuming and digital addictions."

Modern Obscure Music will release PRSNT on April 16, 2021.