The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Mute Reveals Series Of Telex Reissues
Christian Eede , January 22nd, 2021 03:01

The Belgian synthpop trio's back catalogue will first be highlighted with compilation 'This Is Telex'

Mute is embarking on a series of reissues of classic works by Telex.

The series gets underway in April with the release of This Is Telex, a 14-track retrospective compilation highlighting a number of the Belgian trio's singles, from 1978 debut 'Twist À Saint Tropez' through to their final album, 2006's How Do You Dance? Tracks on the compilation have been newly mixed and remastered from the original tapes by band members Dan Lacksman and Michel Moers.

Also featured are two recently discovered and unreleased tracks by the trio – their take on The Beatles' 'Dear Prudence' and Sonny & Cher's 'The Beat Goes On' – as well as their writing collaboration with Sparks and cover of the Sparks hit 'The Number One Song In Heaven'. You can watch a new video for one of their biggest hits, 1979's 'Moskow Diskow', which is also included on This Is Telex, above.

This is Telex will be released on vinyl, cassette, CD and digital formats. The physical release will come with sleeve notes by occasional tQ contributor David Stubbs.

Further reissues of Telex's work will be announced over the coming months.

Mute will release This Is Telex on April 30, 2021.