The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Daniel Avery Shares Two New Tracks
Christian Eede , November 24th, 2020 16:36

'Petrol Blue' and 'Into The Voice Of Stillness' appear on a new single alongside a recent album cut

Daniel Avery has released a new EP, featuring two brand new tracks.

Into The Arms Of Stillness takes in the title track, which appeared on recent surprise album Love + Light, as well as two new songs: 'Petrol Blue' and 'Into The Voice Of Stillness'. You can listen to the full EP just below.

Speaking about the EP, Avery says: "I wanted to make something that would sit next to 'Lone Swordsman' in the world of Love + Light. 'Petrol Blue' was written in a studio at the very edge of the country. The views across the water without a single sight on the horizon always create a certain atmosphere in my mind, some kind of unknowing warmth. Real life seems pretty distant in those moments.

"The track came about quickly, in the space of a few hours, and filled the room immediately. It's named after my own little space down by the water that continues to be its own escape and a constant source of creativity. I owe my life to that metal box right now."

In addition to the release of Into The Arms Of Stillness, Avery is lining up a vinyl release for Love + Light this Friday (November 27).

Into The Arms Of Stillness is out now on Phantasy.