The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Thurston Moore Unveils New Track, 'Cantaloupe'
Christian Eede , July 6th, 2020 16:49

It's the second track to be released from the former Sonic Youth leader's next album

Thurston Moore has shared a second track from his new album, By The Fire.

Titled 'Cantaloupe', it's the second song to be revealed from the album, following lead track 'Hashish', which was released last month. You can hear 'Cantaloupe' above.

Moore's seventh solo album, By The Fire was made with his now regular backing band line-up of Deb Googe (My Bloody Valentine) on bass and backing vocals, Jon Leidecker AKA 'Wobbly' (Negativland) on electronics, James Sedwards on guitar, and Sonic Youth's Steve Shelley alternating on drums with Jem Doulton. The album was finished prior to the UK's COVID-19 lockdown, with Moore working in recording studios in North London up until the third week of March in order to complete it.

The Daydream Library Series will release By The Fire on September 25, 2020.